Presentation Night 2018…The Results Are In!

A trophy-filled presentation night at West Mon Golf Club capped off a season of exciting highs and lows for the club on Friday. As we reflected upon undoubtedly one of the most emotionally charged and difficult seasons the club has endured in its history, we also celebrated the successes on the pitch of all four senior teams, as well as recognised the achievements and contributions of those behind the scenes and those whose journey is only just beginning.

The 1st Team saw their awards all fall at the feet of defender Tyla Preece, who had a fantastic few months in an Excelsiors strip. Manager Stephen ‘Butch’ Morgan spoke highly of the stocky stalwart of the squad and the consensus was of a job well done by Preece, who had the distinction of winning every award he was eligible to win on the evening.

The Reserves, just hours after successfully defeating Park Fields AFC for the Bob Annett Cup in a convincing 6-0 victory, also celebrated their own team’s successes, with the silverware proudly on display throughout the evening and manager Gareth Winmill speaking from the heart as to exactly what the cup and the season meant to him. Indeed, the occasion was marked as the team were clapped into the building arriving with the trophy straight from Aberbargoed Buds’ ground to the Highest Tee in Britain.

Of course, no awards evening would be complete without the Development and Veterans getting their recognition too, as the merging of young and old came together in mutual partnership to commemorate their season, with head-turner Kian Watkins having a stormer of a night as well, in an evening that could position him very well for future seasons.

Abertillery Excelsiors Presentation Night Winners:

1st Team:

Top Goalscorer, Player of the Year and Player’s Player: Tyla Preece


Top Goalscorer: Gregg Meredith

Player of the Year: Ioan Fisher

Player’s Player: Matthew ‘Bonnie’ Lewis

Development Squad:

Top Goalscorer and Player’s Player: Kian Watkins

Player of the Year: Mason Wiltshire


Top Goalscorer and Player of the Year: Mark Bridgeman

Player’s Player: Barry Edmonds

Young Player of the Year: Callum Williams

Most Improved Player: Kian Watkins

Clubman of the Year: Matthew Thomas

Keith Williams ‘Ham & Egger’ Award: Nathaniel Nelson